Exit through the Gift Shop

Doc: EXIT THROUGH THE GIFT SHOP

Filmmaker: Banksy  (Click to Learn more about this flash Street Artist )

Reviewer: Becky Beamer

Man o Man > I’m out of blogging practice. I’ve been so caught up in moving from DC to Dunedin,NZ that I haven’t had a chance to write about all of my documentary viewing. And, I have been busy starting up another blog (shameless plug) http://nzexpat.wordpress.com/.

But, I was snapped back into reality because Dunedin’s annual Film Festival just so happens to be July
Curious? Need to know more ? Check it out:  http://www.nzff.co.nz/n4339,209,region=3.html

As far as Exit through the Gift Shop, I thought it was very entertaining. I missed it at the E Street theater in D.C so I was psyched to cath it in Dunedin.

The trailer doesn’t do this film justice.

The first 30-40 minutes was awesome.  I won’t ruin the surprise but there was a nice twist to the film followed by a series of hilarious interviews from Banksy.  If you are a fan of street art you will not be disappointed.  I was not impressed by the shooting of placing the pieces in their environment – seen it BUT I was impressed with the artist’ studios and moments of true bonding between the characters.   I also appreciated the cameo by street artist – Swoon – who I love (and went to school with).

The audience was beyond receptive – laughing out-loud and (Shout out to Jane and Anya) who I continued to discuss the film with into the next afternoon.

My biggest criticism – I wanted to see Banksy’s face already! Not even a peek in the credits? Come on Banksy!

Also, not to harp on negativity but, if I was wearing a watch I would have looked down at my watch starting about an hour into the film. Once distracted, I also felt shiftiness in my legs as my butt started falling asleep. Other than the seats – I thought about the venue (see pic below). It was so fantastic I kept thinking “what a gem – I love watching movies here”.

4 out of 5 Cheers.

b.b

One thought on “Exit through the Gift Shop

Leave a Reply

